New York State's first osteopathic medical school, and one of the largest DO programs in the country by class size. Here's an honest, physician-reviewed look at what NYITCOM takes and what it values — with a clear note on where its numbers come from. No admission odds — just verified facts and how to read them.
NYITCOM is committed to training osteopathic physicians for a lifetime of learning and practice, based upon the integration of evidence-based knowledge, critical thinking, and the tenets of osteopathic principles and practice.NYITCOM official mission4
NYITCOM's mission foregrounds evidence-based practice, critical thinking, and osteopathic principles — a clinically-focused, training-first identity rather than a research-first one. As New York State's first DO school (1977), with a large class and a deep clinical network across the New York metro area, it's a school for applicants who want strong osteopathic clinical training at scale. Speaking specifically to why osteopathic medicine and to hands-on, evidence-based patient care fits exactly what the school says it's about.
NYITCOM delivers a faculty-led, lecture-discussion-based, systems-organized pre-clinical curriculum (Years 1–2), followed by clinical rotations across its network in Years 3–4.3 A few distinctive, officially-listed options are worth naming if they fit you:
(NYITCOM's own pages don't clearly brand a "DO/MBA," so we're not claiming one — confirm any specific combined degree directly with the school.)
For its standard DO pathway, NYITCOM does not state a minimum GPA or MCAT — applications are reviewed holistically, which genuinely means a compelling, well-rounded application matters.2 Prerequisites are specific: English (6), biology with lab (8), general chemistry with lab (8), organic chemistry I and II with lab (4 each; biochemistry may substitute for Organic II), and physics with lab (8) — and notably, online lab or online prerequisite coursework is not accepted. Letters: three via AACOMAS, ideally a pre-health committee/composite letter (preferred) or two science-faculty letters plus a supervisor letter; DO/MD letters from non-family members are recommended. MCAT scores are accepted within roughly a three-year window.
NYITCOM does not use the MMI. Interviews are traditional, granted only by invitation of the admissions committee, and offered virtually or in person, running from late summer into early spring until the class fills.5 Because it's a conventional conversation drawn partly from your application, know your own file cold, and be ready to speak clearly about why osteopathic medicine, your clinical experiences, and why NYITCOM specifically. Rehearse out loud — and if you're offered a virtual slot, do a real tech run first.
For 2026–2027, tuition is $70,720, the same for in-state and out-of-state students, before fees and living expenses.1 As always, confirm the current year's figure on NYITCOM's official financial pages before you apply.
NYITCOM is a large, established, clinically-focused DO program with no stated GPA/MCAT minimums for its standard track, which genuinely means holistic review — a compelling, well-rounded application matters. Because the school publishes no class profile of its own, don't over-index on the AACOM college averages (3.69 / 504.6); treat them as a rough middle, not a bar. Write toward evidence-based, hands-on osteopathic medicine, know your file, and complete early. This is our read of NYITCOM's own materials, not a prediction of admission.
Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:
NYITCOM does not publish an acceptance rate or its own class profile, and Preceptorly does not invent or display acceptance rates — by policy. What is published: AACOM college averages for the college as a whole (3.69 GPA / 504.6 MCAT, 2024–25, New York and Arkansas campuses combined), New York campus class size, tuition, and a traditional (non-MMI) interview by invitation. Treat the AACOM averages as a rough middle, not a cutoff — and confirm current figures on AACOM's NYITCOM profile and NYITCOM's official admissions pages.
No. NYITCOM uses a traditional interview, by invitation of the admissions committee, offered virtually or in person — not a multiple mini-interview.
Per AACOM, the college's average cumulative GPA is 3.69 and mean MCAT 504.6 (2024–25, all campuses combined). NYITCOM publishes no class profile of its own, and these are reported for the college as a whole (both campuses). No science GPA, median, or range is officially published.
NYITCOM does not state a minimum GPA or MCAT for its standard DO pathway; review is holistic. (A separate Health Professions Pathway has its own minimums.)
For 2026–2027, tuition is $70,720 (same in-state and out-of-state), before fees and living expenses.
Founded in 1977, it was the first osteopathic medical school in New York State and enrolls one of the largest first-year classes of any DO program.
Figures reflect NYITCOM's officially published data (and AACOM college averages) as of September 2026 and can change each cycle — always confirm the current numbers on NYITCOM's official pages before you apply. Preceptorly is not affiliated with NYIT. This page is an independent, physician-reviewed resource and does not predict admission.