Albany Medical College, in Albany, New York, interviews applicants through a virtual multiple mini interview, requires 40 hours of service learning over four years, and says it does not accept updates or letters of intent at any point in the season.15 Here is what Albany publishes and how to read it. No odds, just sourced facts.
Albany’s admissions page says “A successful applicant demonstrates significant commitment to community service and a desire to help others.”1 The mission statement on the school’s mission page belongs to the wider Albany Med Health System, not the college alone: the system describes itself as “delivering accessible, collaborative and trusted care, advancing discovery, and educating the next generation of health care professionals.”6 The signal is service first. The service-learning requirement, below, is where the school turns that language into a graduation condition.
The feature that sets Albany apart on paper is service learning:
Albany asks that all prerequisite coursework be taken in person, in two semesters each of biology, chemistry, organic chemistry and physics with laboratory, and says it expects applicants to have taken at least one to two upper-level, rigorous science courses showing a willingness to challenge themselves.1 For applicants planning to enroll in August 2027, the oldest MCAT score it accepts is from January 2023 and the latest it can consider is one taken before September 30, 2026.1
Letters are accepted only through the AMCAS Letter Service. A premedical advisory committee letter is preferred; a letter packet is accepted; or between 3 and 4 individual letters may be substituted, with a maximum of four.1 The school publishes no residency policy on the pages we reviewed, so we do not describe one.
“Albany Medical College uses a virtual Multiple Mini Interview (MMI) format…over an approximately two hour period via a series of short virtual one-on-one interviews.” Interviews begin in August and end in April.1 The format rewards short, clean answers across many different prompts, so practice resetting between stations. The admissions page does not publish the number of stations, so we do not state one.
Everyone who has submitted an AMCAS application by the Nov. 1, 2026 deadline, and whose application subsequently becomes verified, receives an Albany supplemental application. It is due by 11:59 p.m. EST on Dec. 1, 2026, carries a $130 non-refundable fee, and fee waivers are provided only through the AAMC Fee Assistance Program.1
One policy shapes how you use the time after you submit: “updates and letters of intent are not accepted by the MD Admissions office at any point in the season.”1 Put your strongest material in the application rather than saving it for a later update. The supplemental prompts are not published on the pages we reviewed.
Albany’s 2026–2027 Financial Aid Guide lists MD Program first-year tuition of $61,125, with a Student Health Fee of $125 shown separately; the guide gives one tuition figure.34 The sequence: AMCAS by Nov. 1, verification, then the supplemental by Dec. 1, with interviews running August through April.1
Albany tends to fit applicants whose record shows sustained service, since the school names community service as a mark of a successful applicant and builds a 40-hour requirement into the curriculum.15 It suits applicants who communicate well in short exchanges, because the interview is a series of brief one-on-one stations.1 It suits applicants who submit a finished, confident file the first time, given that updates and letters of intent are not accepted.1 It fits less naturally an applicant who plans to send a mid-cycle update, who needs a published residency policy, or who wants a stated station count before preparing.
Albany’s average GPA of 3.82 and average MCAT of 512 are published for its most recent incoming class, with the year not stated, so they are an anchor for the middle of the class and not a cutoff. What the school asks for around them is specific: community service you can speak about, short-form interview answers across a virtual MMI, and a finished application, because updates and letters of intent are not accepted. The read: a record of real service, a file that does not depend on a later update, and an interview style that is clear and quick gives you the most to work with. That is a judgment about fit, not a prediction of admission. We publish no odds.
Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:
Albany’s admissions page says the average undergraduate GPA for its most recent incoming class was 3.82 overall and 3.77 in science, and the average MCAT score was 512. The page does not name the class year. Albany’s Facts & Figures page lists 145 applicants matriculated for the Class of 2030.12
Albany uses a virtual Multiple Mini Interview format over an approximately two hour period via a series of short virtual one-on-one interviews. Interviews begin in August and end in April.1
No. Albany says that updates and letters of intent are not accepted by the MD Admissions office at any point in the season.1
Albany’s 2026–2027 Financial Aid Guide lists MD Program first-year tuition of $61,125, with a Student Health Fee of $125 listed separately.3
Albany requires 40 hours of service learning over four years, though many students go beyond that. At least half of the hours must be completed before the first day of third year, and students choose among approximately 20 designated programs.5
Albany considers recommendations only through the AMCAS Letter Service: a premedical advisory committee letter (preferred), a letter packet from a college letter service, or between 3 and 4 individual letters, with a maximum of four.1
Figures are Albany’s own published averages for its most recent incoming class; the admissions page gives no year, so none is attached to them. The 145 figure is labeled Class of 2030 only on the Facts & Figures page. The mission statement quoted belongs to Albany Med Health System. Supplemental prompts and station counts are not stated on the pages we reviewed. Tuition excludes living costs. No acceptance rate or admission odds are shown, by policy. Not affiliated with or endorsed by Albany Medical College; confirm all requirements on the school’s official pages. Nothing here predicts an admission decision.