✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › Rowan-Virtua
● Osteopathic · DO

Getting into Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine (Rowan-Virtua SOM)

New Jersey's only osteopathic medical school — part of Rowan University, deeply tied to the state's health system, and a strong pipeline into New Jersey residencies. Here's an honest, physician-reviewed look at what it takes and what it values. No admission odds — just verified facts and how to read them.

Rowan University · Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine
Degree
DOOsteopathic medicine
Location
Stratford / Sewell, NJNJ's only DO school
Founded
1976Part of Rowan University
Apply via
AACOMASSecondary required
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. Rowan-Virtua's two averages are labeled differently: the MCAT average (509, entered 2026) is for accepted applicants, not the enrolled class, and the GPA average (3.72, from AACOM) has no stated year or population. The entering class is 292 students (entered 2026; one admission across the Stratford and Sewell sites), and no sourced science GPA is shown.1
Averages · Rowan-Virtua SOM (MCAT: accepted applicants, entered 2026)
3.72
Avg GPA (year not stated)
509
Avg MCAT (accepted applicants, entered 2026)
292
Class size (entered 2026)

What is Rowan-Virtua's mission — and what does it signal?

Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine fosters innovation, advances biomedical research, elevates excellence in education, and delivers transformative interprofessional healthcare for the community we serve.Rowan-Virtua SOM official mission3

The mission's throughline is research, interprofessional care, and community — and the "community" part is unusually literal here. As New Jersey's only DO school, part of a research university and now partnered with Virtua Health, Rowan-Virtua is woven into the state's healthcare system, and it keeps a large share of its graduates in New Jersey (45% of the Class of 2026 matched to NJ residencies).9 If your goal is to train and practice in New Jersey, that's a genuine, specific reason to want this school — and a strong thing to say plainly.

What makes Rowan-Virtua's curriculum distinctive?

Rowan-Virtua runs a branded "Tensegrity Curriculum." In the first two pre-clerkship years, students choose between two learning tracks — Problem-Based Learning (PBL) and Synergistic Guided Learning (SGL) — that share the same System Blocks, osteopathic clinical skills, and longitudinal project work. Clerkship years add a nationally recognized geriatrics experience at the NJ Institute for Successful Aging, plus OMM/neuromuscular medicine and point-of-care ultrasound.4 The dual-degree menu is genuinely broad and worth naming if one fits you:

Picking a track (PBL vs. SGL) and, if relevant, a dual degree gives you concrete, specific material for a "why Rowan-Virtua" answer.

How does Rowan-Virtua review applicants?

Rowan-Virtua lists preferred metrics rather than hard cutoffs — a science GPA of 3.50+, an MCAT of 505+, and a BBFL subscore of 126+ — and reviews holistically.6 The snapshot's 509 MCAT average (accepted applicants) is above the 505+ preference; the preferred GPA is a science GPA and the 3.72 shown is a different figure, so we don't compare them. Prerequisites include eight semester hours of biology with lab, chemistry and physics sequences with lab, six hours of college math, and English composition plus additional English-department credit; a grade of C or better is required. Notably, no physician letter is required — a pre-health committee letter, or two science-faculty letters, satisfies the requirement — and the MCAT is valid for five years.

Does Rowan-Virtua use the MMI — and what is the interview like?

Rowan-Virtua does not use the MMI. Its interview is a virtual board-panel interview of about 30–45 minutes with members of the admissions committee — faculty, professional staff, and third- or fourth-year medical students.7 A panel means several perspectives at once, so rehearse addressing the whole group and speaking clearly about why osteopathic medicine, why Rowan-Virtua (the NJ tie and your chosen learning track are real hooks), and a genuine service or clinical experience. Because it's virtual, do a real tech run — camera at eye level, look at the lens.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room is built to rehearse a virtual panel like this. Join the waitlist →

When should I apply, and how do secondaries work?

Rowan-Virtua requires a secondary application, sent after AACOMAS verification, with a secondary (and letters) deadline of March 15. The primary opens in May through AACOMAS with a February 1 primary deadline, and an Early Decision program also exists.8 (Rowan-Virtua doesn't use the word "rolling" on its own pages, so we won't assume it — but completing early is still the safe move.) Use the secondary to make your New Jersey connection and osteopathic interest concrete.

How much does Rowan-Virtua cost?

For 2025–2026, tuition is $48,266 for New Jersey residents and $76,600 for out-of-state students — and out-of-state residents pay the out-of-state rate for all four years.1 The affordable in-state rate is a real reason NJ ties matter here. Confirm the current year's figures on Rowan-Virtua's official page before you apply.

Where do Rowan-Virtua graduates match?

For the Class of 2026, Rowan-Virtua reports a 98% match rate (257 students), with 35% entering primary care and 45% matching to New Jersey residency programs.9 The prior class (2025) placed at nearly 100% (206 of 206 matched) with a higher primary-care share (56%) and 51% staying in NJ.10 The consistent theme: a strong match record and a heavy New Jersey footprint — exactly what you'd expect from the state's only DO school.

What Rowan-Virtua seems to value — an honest read

New Jersey's DO school, and it rewards a real New Jersey (and osteopathic) fit.

Rowan-Virtua's identity is inseparable from its state: the only DO school in New Jersey, tied to a research university and a health system, sending nearly half its graduates into NJ residencies. Preferred (not required) metrics and holistic review leave room for a compelling applicant, and the affordable in-state tuition makes NJ ties matter. Write toward a genuine New Jersey and osteopathic connection, pick a learning track you can speak to, and complete early. This is our read of Rowan-Virtua's own materials, not a prediction of admission.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at Rowan-Virtua and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

Honest school listPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

Does Rowan-Virtua SOM use the MMI?

No. Rowan-Virtua uses a virtual board-panel interview of about 30–45 minutes with members of the admissions committee — not a multiple mini-interview.

What are the average GPA and MCAT?

Rowan-Virtua's averages are a 3.72 GPA (AACOM; year and population not stated) and a 509 MCAT for accepted applicants (entered 2026). These are averages, not medians or ranges.

How much does Rowan-Virtua cost?

For 2025–2026, tuition is $48,266 for NJ residents and $76,600 for out-of-state students; out-of-state residents pay the out-of-state rate all four years.

Does Rowan-Virtua require a physician letter of recommendation?

No. It accepts a pre-medical committee letter, or at least two letters from science faculty who taught you. A physician letter is not required.

Is Rowan-Virtua the only DO school in New Jersey?

Yes. Founded in 1976, it is New Jersey's only osteopathic medical school, and it matches a large share of its graduates to New Jersey residencies.

Sources — Rowan-Virtua official pages

  1. Rowan-Virtua SOM — DO Admissions FAQ (MCAT average, entered 2026; tuition in/out-of-state): som.rowan.edu — admissions FAQ; GPA average (year not stated): aacom.org — Rowan-Virtua; class size (entered 2026): Rowan Today white coat news
  2. Rowan-Virtua SOM — History (founded 1976; NJ's only DO school; Stratford/Sewell): som.rowan.edu — history
  3. Rowan-Virtua SOM — Leadership / mission & vision: som.rowan.edu — leadership
  4. Rowan-Virtua SOM — Curriculum ("Tensegrity"; PBL & SGL tracks): som.rowan.edu — curriculum
  5. Rowan-Virtua SOM — Dual Degrees: som.rowan.edu — dual degrees
  6. Rowan-Virtua SOM — How to Apply (prerequisites, preferred metrics, letters, MCAT recency): som.rowan.edu — how to apply
  7. Rowan-Virtua SOM — Interview Process (virtual board-panel interview): som.rowan.edu — interview process
  8. Rowan-Virtua SOM — Admissions (secondary required; AACOMAS deadlines): som.rowan.edu — admissions
  9. Rowan-Virtua SOM — Match Day Outcomes (Class of 2026: 98% match of 257 students, 35% primary care, 45% NJ): som.rowan.edu — match outcomes
  10. Rowan Today — Class of 2025 Match (nearly 100% placement, 56% primary care, 51% NJ): today.rowan.edu — Class of 2025 match

Figures reflect Rowan-Virtua's officially published data as of September 2026 and can change each cycle — always confirm the current numbers on Rowan-Virtua's official pages before you apply. Preceptorly is not affiliated with Rowan University or Virtua Health. This page is an independent, physician-reviewed resource and does not predict admission.