✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › KCU
● Osteopathic · DO

Getting into Kansas City University College of Osteopathic Medicine (KCU-COM)

KCU is one of the five original osteopathic medical schools, and it's grown into the largest medical school in Missouri — two campuses and a real primary-care heart. Here's an honest, physician-reviewed look at what it takes and what this school genuinely values. No admission odds — just verified facts and how to read them.

Kansas City University · College of Osteopathic Medicine
Degree
DOOsteopathic medicine
Location
Kansas City, MO+ Joplin campus
Founded
1916One of 5 original DO schools
Apply via
AACOMASSecondary required
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. KCU publishes averages (not medians or ranges) and no minimum GPA or MCAT. The card shows the Kansas City campus; the Joplin campus (opened 2017) reports a 3.6 GPA / 505 MCAT / class 164 (year not stated). Averages, never cutoffs.1
Averages · KCU-COM (Kansas City campus; year not stated)
3.62
Avg GPA
505
Avg MCAT
269
Class size

What is KCU's mission — and what does it signal?

Kansas City University is a community of professionals committed to excellence in education, research, patient care and community service while improving the well-being of the communities we serve.KCU official mission2 · Values: Excellence, Equity, Empathy

Read that mission literally and you can see exactly what KCU is built around: community, and the well-being of the people it serves. And it isn't just words on a page. KCU runs an early-clinical service program, Score 1 for Health, that screens more than 10,000 kids a year, and it opened its Joplin campus specifically to get more physicians into an underserved four-state region.3 So if your story is about service, access, and community medicine, this is a place where that lands as the real thing — not a line you're saying because you think you should.

What makes KCU's curriculum distinctive?

KCU-COM is a four-year, systems-based DO program that runs in two phases: Years 1–2 ("Classes and Labs") — lectures, labs, high-fidelity simulation, and early time with patients — then Years 3–4 ("Clinicals and Clerkships") out on inpatient and outpatient rotations. OMM/OMT gets its own dedicated labs, and there's even a competitive 12-month OMM Fellowship you can pursue between third and fourth year.5 But where KCU really sets itself apart — and where your "why KCU" homework should go — is its named tracks and dual degrees:

If one of these fits your background — a veteran drawn to Military Medicine, say, or a public-health-minded applicant eyeing the MPH — name it, specifically. That kind of concrete detail is what turns a generic "why KCU" into one that sounds like you actually mean it.

How does KCU review applicants?

Here's something that should take a little pressure off: KCU doesn't publish a minimum GPA or MCAT. The numbers in the snapshot are entering-class averages, not cutoffs — so a 3.5 with a genuine, mission-aligned story and real healthcare experience is absolutely still in the conversation here.1 What KCU does expect: the usual science prerequisites (biology, biochemistry, general and organic chemistry, physics, English — grade C or better), an MCAT within three years of entry, a letter from a physician (a DO or an MD, either's fine), and a pre-health committee or science-faculty letter.10

Does KCU-COM use the MMI — and what is the interview like?

Good news if the MMI makes you sweat: KCU-COM doesn't use it. When you're invited, interview day centers on one ~20-minute conversation with two faculty or staff members, plus a separate group discussion. KCU says the questions are about its values, how you think, and how you work through an ethical gray area — and it can be virtual or in person.6 Because it's a conversation about values and judgment rather than a rapid-fire circuit, the best prep is talking out loud: why osteopathic medicine, a real ethical dilemma you can reason through, and specific ways you've shown up for a community. Record yourself if you can — hearing your own answers back is worth more than memorizing any of them.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room is built to rehearse exactly this kind of values-and-ethics interview — and coach your answers, honestly. Join the waitlist →

When should I apply, and how do secondaries work?

You'll apply through AACOMAS (the DO application service), which opens in early May for the next year's class. Once KCU reviews your application, it invites qualified applicants to a secondary — and because admissions are rolling, getting yours back quickly genuinely helps.8 KCU doesn't publish its exact prompts, but everything above tells you what to write toward: mission fit. Show them, with real specifics, what pulls you to osteopathic medicine, how you've served your community (especially underserved or rural ones), and where you line up with Excellence, Equity, and Empathy.

How much does KCU-COM cost?

For 2026–2027, DO tuition runs $59,030 a year, plus about $4,230 in separate fees (a $4,160 academic support fee and a $70 activity fee) — call it roughly $63,260 a year before you've paid rent or bought groceries.7 Tuition creeps up every year, so double-check the current number on KCU's page before you apply.

Where do KCU graduates match?

KCU reports a 98.8% residency placement rate for 2026, with a lot of grads heading into primary care — internal medicine, pediatrics, and family medicine — and it puts its three-year average above 99%.11 (Those are two different windows, so we're keeping them separate on purpose.) KCU also calls itself a leading producer of physicians for the state of Missouri. If primary care is where you're headed, the outcomes and the mission are pulling in the same direction.

What KCU seems to value — an honest read

Fit here is about mission, not just numbers.

Everything KCU puts out points the same way — community service, primary care, osteopathic identity, and an interview about values instead of a stats gauntlet. With no published GPA or MCAT minimums, there's real room here for someone whose story carries weight the averages miss: your service, your “why DO,” a genuine tie to the communities KCU exists to reach. If that sounds like you, KCU is well worth a specific, heartfelt, mission-grounded application. This is our read of KCU's own materials — not a prediction of admission.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at KCU and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

Honest school listPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

Does KCU-COM use the MMI?

No. KCU-COM uses one ~20-minute one-on-one interview with two faculty or staff members, plus a separate group discussion. Questions focus on KCU's values, critical thinking, and ethical scenarios — it is not a multiple mini-interview.

Is there a minimum GPA or MCAT?

KCU does not publish a minimum GPA or MCAT. KCU's published averages (year not stated) are a 3.62 GPA at the Kansas City campus and 3.6 at the Joplin campus, with a 505 MCAT average at both. MCAT scores are accepted up to three years before entry.

How much does KCU-COM cost?

For 2026–2027, annual DO tuition is $59,030, plus separate fees of about $4,230, for roughly $63,260 per year before living expenses.

What's the difference between the Kansas City and Joplin campuses?

KCU-COM runs its DO program on two Missouri campuses. Kansas City is the original urban campus (founded 1916); the Joplin (Farber-McIntire) campus opened in 2017, partners with Mercy Hospital Joplin and Freeman Health System, and serves an underserved four-state region.

Does KCU require osteopathic (DO) shadowing?

KCU does not state a DO-only shadowing requirement or a specific hour minimum. It expects healthcare experience plus a letter from a physician — a DO or an MD — and a pre-health committee or science-faculty letter.

What residency outcomes does KCU report?

KCU reports a 98.8% residency placement rate for 2026 and an average above 99% over the prior three years, with strong primary-care placement (internal medicine, pediatrics, family medicine).

Sources — KCU official pages

  1. KCU — Student Profile (averages by campus, year not stated; founded 1916): kansascity.edu/admissions/student-profile
  2. KCU — Mission & Vision: kansascity.edu — mission & vision
  3. KCU-COM — Program homepage (Score 1 for Health; Missouri physician production): osteopathic-medicine-program.kansascity.edu
  4. KCU — History (Joplin / Farber-McIntire campus, 2017): kansascity.edu — history
  5. KCU-COM — Program Structure (curriculum, tracks, dual degrees, OMM Fellowship): osteopathic-medicine-program.kansascity.edu/program-structure
  6. KCU — Interview Day / Virtual Schedule (format): kansascity.edu — interview day
  7. KCU — COM Tuition (2026–2027): kansascity.edu — COM tuition
  8. KCU — How to Apply, COM (secondary required; rolling admissions): kansascity.edu — how to apply
  9. KCU — History (founded 1916; one of five original DO schools): kansascity.edu — history
  10. KCU — COM Requirements (prerequisites, letters, MCAT recency; no published minimums): kansascity.edu — COM requirements
  11. KCU-COM — Outcomes / Match placement (2026 placement; 3-year average): osteopathic-medicine-program.kansascity.edu/outcomes

Figures reflect KCU's officially published data as of September 2026 and can change each cycle — always confirm the current numbers on KCU's official pages before you apply. Preceptorly is not affiliated with Kansas City University. This page is an independent, physician-reviewed resource and does not predict admission.