✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › VCOM
● Osteopathic · DO

Getting into Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM)

One school, four campuses, one mission: put physicians into rural and medically underserved communities — from Appalachia to the Delta — with a global-health reach. Here's an honest, physician-reviewed look at what VCOM takes and what it clearly values. No admission odds — just verified facts and how to read them.

Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine · VCOM
Degree
DOOsteopathic medicine
Campuses
FourVA · SC · AL · LA
Founded
2001Virginia campus
Apply via
AACOMASSecondary by invite
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. VCOM publishes minimums (3.4 GPA) and a competitive MCAT range (500–506) on its own site rather than campus averages; the per-campus averages shown are the exact figures reported to AACOM (Virginia: entered 2024; the other campuses: 2024–25, population not stated). We list each campus separately and don't combine them.1
Entering-class averages by campus · AACOM Choose DO
4
Campuses — exact figures for each are listed below

What is VCOM's mission — and what does it signal?

…to prepare globally minded, community-focused osteopathic physicians to meet the needs of rural and medically underserved populations and advance research to improve human health.VCOM official mission2

VCOM's mission isn't vague uplift — it's a hiring spec for the class it wants. The Virginia campus was founded to serve a region with dozens of federally designated shortage counties, and the school explicitly extends that to Appalachia, the Delta, and global-health outreach.4 If your story genuinely runs through rural or underserved care — where you're from, who you've served, where you want to practice — VCOM is a school where that reads as core fit, not a bonus. A generic "I want to help people" leaves the single strongest card unplayed here.

What makes VCOM's curriculum distinctive?

VCOM runs a block/systems-based, whole-patient osteopathic curriculum, integrating body systems with hands-on clinical experience and OMM across all four years. The defining features flow straight from the mission: rural & underserved training oriented toward physician-shortage regions, global-health outreach as a stated institutional goal, and research written into the mission itself.4 Because the four campuses share a mission but sit in different regions, "why VCOM — and why this campus" is a fair thing to be ready to answer with specifics.

What GPA and MCAT does VCOM look for?

VCOM publishes real minimums: for traditional applicants, a 3.4 science and 3.4 cumulative GPA, and an MCAT generally at or above the mid-490s, with competitive scores starting near 500 (average accepted 500–506).6 The per-campus averages sit above those floors — here's the AACOM Choose DO breakdown (Virginia: entered 2024; the other campuses: 2024–25, population not stated):

Prerequisites include biology, physics, general and organic chemistry (biochemistry accepted), and English, plus a minimum of nine additional upper-level (200+) biomedical-science credits, generally within the last five years. Notably, a physician letter is encouraged but not required, and there's no mandatory committee letter.

Does VCOM use the MMI — and what is the interview like?

VCOM does not use the MMI. Its interview is traditional and in-person, held on a VCOM campus with faculty and administration, alongside an orientation, financial-aid session, and campus tour, generally running August through April.7 Rehearse a clear, specific answer to why osteopathic medicine, a genuine tie to rural or underserved communities, and why this particular campus. Because it's in-person and conversational, warmth and coherence matter — practice out loud until your story is natural rather than memorized.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room lets you rehearse a traditional, conversational interview like this. Join the waitlist →

When should I apply, and how do secondaries work?

VCOM's secondary is by invitation — sent after an initial screen of your AACOMAS application — and admissions run on a rolling basis, with the school noting classes may fill by early spring.7 The primary opens in May through AACOMAS, with an official deadline around April 15; an Early Decision Track also exists. Given the rolling cycle and mission focus, apply early and use every essay to show concrete service, not general enthusiasm.

How much does VCOM cost?

For 2026–2027, tuition is $52,500 per year — and notably, VCOM charges the same at all four campuses and the same for in-state and out-of-state students, stating tuition is the only fee paid to the college.8 That's on the lower end for a private DO program. A $1,500 acceptance deposit (applied to tuition) and a small secondary fee apply; living costs vary by campus. Confirm the current figure before applying.

Where do VCOM graduates match?

VCOM's outcomes track its mission closely. It reports a 99.8% final residency placement for 2025 graduates, with about 64% entering primary care and roughly 59% going on to practice in medically underserved areas.4 For a school built to serve shortage regions, those aren't just good numbers — they're evidence the model works, and a useful thing to connect to your own goals.

What VCOM seems to value — an honest read

Mission fit isn't a tiebreaker here — it's the whole thesis.

Four campuses placed in and around shortage regions, 64% primary care, most graduates practicing where care is scarce: everything VCOM publishes points at one kind of applicant — someone genuinely oriented toward rural, underserved, community medicine. The 3.4/3.4 GPA floor and mid-490s MCAT leave room for a candidate whose story carries real weight, but the story has to be specific and true. Meet the minimums, then make the mission match undeniable. This is our read of VCOM's own materials, not a prediction of admission.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at VCOM and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

Honest school listPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

Does VCOM use the MMI?

No. VCOM uses a traditional, in-person interview at a VCOM campus with faculty and administration — not a multiple mini-interview.

Is there a minimum GPA or MCAT?

Yes — a 3.4 science and 3.4 cumulative GPA for traditional applicants, and an MCAT generally in the mid-490s minimum with competitive scores near 500 (average accepted 500–506). Per AACOM, the campus mean GPAs are 3.68 (Virginia), 3.72 (Carolinas), 3.73 (Auburn) and 3.69 (Louisiana), and the mean MCATs are 503.2, 501.7, 502.2 and 498.7.

How much does VCOM cost?

For 2026–2027, tuition is $52,500 per year — the same across all four campuses and the same for in-state and out-of-state students, before living expenses.

What is VCOM's mission focus?

Rural and medically underserved care — including Appalachia and the Delta — plus global health. VCOM reports about 64% of graduates entering primary care.

How many campuses does VCOM have?

Four: Virginia (Blacksburg), Carolinas (Spartanburg, SC), Auburn (AL), and Louisiana (Monroe). Tuition and interview format are the same across all four; the class profile differs slightly by campus.

Sources — VCOM official pages

  1. AACOM — VCOM campus profiles (per-campus average GPA/MCAT, matriculants, interview format, deadlines): Virginia aacom.org VA, Carolinas aacom.org SC, Auburn aacom.org AL, Louisiana aacom.org LA; Auburn, Carolinas and Louisiana class figures (2024–25) also from the VCOM Outcomes Report (GPA p.3, MCAT p.5, class size p.17)
  2. VCOM — Mission & Goals: vcom.edu/about/mission-and-goals
  3. VCOM — Our History (established 2001; campus first-class dates): vcom.edu/about/our-history
  4. VCOM — Why VCOM (curriculum highlights; 2025 placement 99.8%; 64% primary care; underserved practice): vcom.edu/admissions/why-vcom
  5. VCOM — Applying / Requirements (prerequisites, GPA minimums, MCAT recency): vcom.edu — requirements
  6. VCOM — Applying / FAQ (competitive MCAT range, physician letter, rolling): vcom.edu — applying FAQ
  7. VCOM — Applying / Step-by-Step (traditional in-person interview; secondary by invitation; timeline): vcom.edu — step-by-step
  8. VCOM — DO Program Tuition & Fees (2026–2027; same across campuses): vcom.edu — tuition & fees

Figures reflect VCOM's officially published data (and AACOM campus profiles) as of September 2026 and can change each cycle — always confirm the current numbers on VCOM's official pages before you apply. Preceptorly is not affiliated with the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine. This page is an independent, physician-reviewed resource and does not predict admission.