✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › Rochester
● Allopathic · MD

Getting into University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry

The University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry is a private program known for pioneering the biopsychosocial model of medicine and its Double Helix Curriculum. It publishes an average MCAT and GPA without a stated year — so this page labels them exactly. No admission odds here, just verified facts.

University of Rochester · School of Medicine and Dentistry
Degree
MDAllopathic medicine
Location
Rochester, NYPrivate
Interview
VirtualHolistic · required
Apply via
AMCASSecondary required
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. Rochester publishes an average MCAT of 517 and an average GPA of 3.8 (year not stated), plus a published range of MCAT 511–527 and GPA 3.65–4.0 (range type not stated; Class of 2030). The honest read is that Rochester weighs the whole applicant, not a posted number.1
Class snapshot · Rochester MD
517
Average MCAT (year not stated)
3.8
Average GPA (year not stated)
105
Entering class (year not stated)
Virtual
Holistic interview

What is Rochester's identity — and what does it signal?

Rochester is the home of the biopsychosocial model — the idea that good medicine integrates the biological, psychological, and social dimensions of a patient.3 Its stated aim is to graduate physicians who "embody the biopsychosocial model," and its motto is Meliora — "ever better." The signal: Rochester wants people who see patients as whole human beings, not just diagnoses.

What makes Rochester distinctive — the Double Helix Curriculum?

Rochester's signature is the Double Helix Curriculum, which interweaves basic science and clinical medicine from the start (with early clinical experiences), alongside the Meliora in Medicine thread spanning medical humanities, collaborative practice, technology in medicine, and professional identity.3 It's a genuinely integrated, humanistic program — a real reason it might fit how you want to train.

What GPA and MCAT does Rochester require?

Rochester publishes an average MCAT of 517 and an average GPA of 3.8 (year not stated), alongside a published range of MCAT 511–527 and GPA 3.65–4.0 (range type not stated; Class of 2030).1 Read the averages as the middle of a class, not a bar to clear; the range shows real spread. The MCAT is still required (and must be recent), and review is holistic — build the strongest whole application you can rather than chasing a single number.

How does Rochester review applicants — and what does it ask for?

Rochester asks for a minimum of three individual letters (maximum five), or a composite/pre-health committee letter, and prefers one science and one non-science letter.2 Review is explicitly holistic — weighing MCAT, GPA, experiences, letters, personal statement, background, and mission alignment together. And a welcome bit of clarity: Rochester states plainly that it does not require situational-judgment tests such as CASPer or AAMC PREview.2

What is the Rochester interview like?

Rochester states that all interviews are virtual and required for admission, selecting applicants through its holistic process.2 It doesn't specify on its public pages whether the format is traditional or an MMI, or the number and length — so confirm that in your invitation. Either way, plan to speak substantively about your path and how you think about whole-person care.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room lets you rehearse both traditional and MMI formats, so you're ready either way. Join the waitlist →

How much does Rochester cost?

Rochester is private, so tuition is a single rate for all students: about $74,050 for 2026–27.4 Budget for fees, insurance, and living costs on top of tuition, and study Rochester's financial aid — confirm the current cost of attendance on its official page.

What Rochester seems to value — an honest read

A humanistic school that reads the whole person — and doesn't post a bar.

Rochester invented the biopsychosocial model and built a curriculum around whole-person care. That its averages come with no stated year is a reason to read them as context — and that fits how we think: no odds, no fake bar. Show that you see patients as people and can carry a coherent story, and let a holistic reader read it. A read on fit, not a prediction.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at Rochester and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

Honest school listPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

What GPA and MCAT do you need for the University of Rochester School of Medicine?

Rochester publishes an average MCAT of 517 and an average GPA of 3.8 (year not stated), and a published range of MCAT 511–527 and GPA 3.65–4.0 (range type not stated). The MCAT is still required; review is holistic. Build the strongest whole application you can.

Does Rochester publish its average GPA or MCAT?

Yes. Rochester's admissions page lists an average MCAT of 517 and an average GPA of 3.8 (year not stated), plus a published range of MCAT 511–527 and GPA 3.65–4.0 (range type not stated).

Does Rochester require the CASPer or AAMC PREview?

No. Rochester states plainly that it does not require situational-judgment tests such as CASPer or AAMC PREview.

What is the Double Helix Curriculum?

It's Rochester's signature four-year curriculum that interweaves basic science and clinical medicine from the start, with early clinical experiences, reflecting its biopsychosocial approach to care.

How many letters of recommendation does Rochester require?

A minimum of three individual letters (maximum five), or a composite/pre-health committee letter, with a preference for one science and one non-science letter.

How much is tuition at the University of Rochester School of Medicine?

Rochester is private, so tuition is a single rate of about $74,050 for 2026–27, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Confirm the current cost of attendance on its official page.

Sources — Rochester official pages

  1. Average GPA/MCAT, published ranges and class size (year not stated): urmc.rochester.edu — MD admissions
  2. Apply page (interview, letters, CASPer/PREview not required, MCAT policy): urmc.rochester.edu — apply
  3. Double Helix Curriculum & biopsychosocial model: urmc.rochester.edu — curriculum
  4. Tuition & cost of attendance (2026–27, confirm current figure): urmc.rochester.edu — cost of attendance

Preceptorly is not affiliated with this school and does not represent it. Figures are the school's own most recently published class data and are averages, medians, or ranges as labeled — not cutoffs. No acceptance rate or admission odds are shown or implied; this page does not predict admission. Tuition is the published tuition line only, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Always confirm current requirements and figures on the school's official pages.