✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › Ohio State
● Allopathic · MD

Getting into The Ohio State University College of Medicine

The Ohio State University College of Medicine is a large public program inside a Big Ten academic health system in Columbus — research-active, primary-care–minded, and refreshingly transparent about its entering class. No admission odds here, just verified facts and how to read them.

The Ohio State University · College of Medicine
Degree
MDAllopathic medicine
Location
Columbus, OHPublic · Big Ten
Interview
VirtualTraditional · two
Apply via
AMCASSecondary required
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. Ohio State reports these as its 2026 entering-class figures (including 11 MD-PhD students), not cutoffs. As a public Big Ten school, Ohio residents make up most of the class (about 56%), so residency shapes the pool more than at a private school. Ohio State does not publish a 10–90% range.1
Entering-class profile · Ohio State MD (2026)
3.86
Class GPA (basis not stated)
513
Class MCAT (basis not stated)
214
Entering class

What is Ohio State's mission — and what does it signal?

Ohio State trains physicians inside a large public academic health system, and its entering-class profile leans hard into engagement: it reports that 100% of the 2026 class participated in research, alongside a class that is majority Ohio residents.1 The signal for applicants is a big, clinically deep program that still expects genuine scholarly and community involvement.

What makes Ohio State distinctive?

Two official tracks stand out. Ohio State runs a Community Medicine MD Track and a Three-Year Primary Care Track, alongside dual-degree options including the MD/PhD (MSTP).3 If your goal is primary care or community-focused practice, those are concrete, named pathways rather than vague promises — a real reason this school might fit your story.

What GPA and MCAT does Ohio State look for?

The 2026 entering class (including 11 MD-PhD students) posted a cumulative GPA of 3.86, a science GPA of 3.81, and an MCAT composite of 513, across 214 new entrants.1 Those are the middle of a strong, accomplished class — not a bar you must clear. Ohio State reviews the whole application rather than screening on a single figure.

How does Ohio State review applicants — and what does it ask for?

Review is holistic, and the requirements are unusually applicant-friendly on letters: Ohio State requires a minimum of two letters, with at least one from a science (BCPM) professor — or a premedical committee composite letter satisfies that requirement.2 It encourages additional letters from people who've seen you work outside the classroom. The MCAT must be within three years. Ohio State's official pages don't list a CASPer or AAMC PREview requirement — confirm the current cycle's expectations before you apply.

Does Ohio State use the MMI — and what is the interview like?

Ohio State uses a traditional interview, not an MMI — two interviews, "one with a faculty member and one with a current medical student or resident," held virtually.2 The school frames the virtual format as a flexible, affordable way for both sides to get to know each other. That format rewards a real conversation: being able to talk through your path and reasoning with two very different interviewers.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room is built to rehearse exactly this kind of one-on-one conversation. Join the waitlist →

How much does Ohio State cost?

For the entering Class of 2028, Ohio State's official first-year cost sheet lists Ohio-resident tuition and fees of about $31,999 and non-resident tuition and fees of about $56,919.4 As a public school, in-state residents pay materially less — so residency shapes the price as well as the applicant pool. Confirm the current year's figures and full cost of attendance on Ohio State's official cost page.

What Ohio State seems to value — an honest read

A big public program that still wants the whole you.

Ohio State pairs the scale and clinical depth of a Big Ten health system with named primary-care and community tracks and a class where everyone did research. The published averages are the center of a strong, mostly-Ohio class, not a gate. If your story points toward primary care or community medicine, that's the fit. A read on fit, not a prediction — we publish no odds.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at Ohio State and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

School Strategy RoomPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomAsk BookerApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

What GPA and MCAT do you need for Ohio State College of Medicine?

The 2026 entering class posted a cumulative GPA of 3.86, a science GPA of 3.81, and an MCAT composite of 513. These are class figures, not cutoffs, and Ohio State reviews applicants holistically.

Does Ohio State use an MMI?

No. Ohio State uses a traditional interview format — two virtual interviews, one with a faculty member and one with a current medical student or resident — rather than a multiple-mini-interview.

How many letters of recommendation does Ohio State require?

A minimum of two, with at least one from a science (BCPM) professor — or a premedical committee composite letter satisfies the requirement. Additional letters from outside the classroom are encouraged.

Does Ohio State prefer in-state residents?

As a public Big Ten school, most of the 2026 class (about 56%) are Ohio residents, so residency shapes the applicant pool.

How much is tuition at Ohio State College of Medicine?

For the entering Class of 2028, the official cost sheet lists Ohio-resident tuition and fees of about $31,999 and non-resident of about $56,919. Confirm the current figures and full cost of attendance on Ohio State's official page.

Does Ohio State require the CASPer or AAMC PREview?

Ohio State's official admissions pages do not list a CASPer or AAMC PREview requirement. Confirm the current cycle's expectations directly on the Ohio State site.

Sources — Ohio State official pages

  1. Entering-class profile (GPA, MCAT, class size, residency): medicine.osu.edu — 2026 entering class profile
  2. Requirements, letters, MCAT policy & interview: medicine.osu.edu — requirements & selection process
  3. MD program, primary-care & community-medicine tracks: medicine.osu.edu — facts & tracks
  4. Tuition & cost of attendance (Class of 2028, confirm current figure): medicine.osu.edu — cost of attendance

Preceptorly is not affiliated with this school and does not represent it. Figures are the school's own most recently published class data and are averages, medians, or ranges as labeled — not cutoffs. No acceptance rate or admission odds are shown or implied; this page does not predict admission. Tuition is the published tuition line only, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Always confirm current requirements and figures on the school's official pages.