✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › Case Western
● Allopathic · MD

Getting into Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine in Cleveland is built around an inquiry- and team-based curriculum — the Western Reserve2 program — that requires a research thesis of every student. No admission odds, just verified facts and how to read them.

Case Western Reserve University · School of Medicine
Degree
MDAllopathic medicine
Location
Cleveland, OHUniversity Circle
Curriculum
Western Reserve2Research thesis required
Apply via
AMCASSecondary required
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. These are the entering class of 2026 figures for the University Program: mean GPA 3.87, mean science (BCPM) GPA 3.85, and MCAT mean 518. Case Western also publishes ranges (type not stated). The entering class is 172 (entered 2026), and the figures include MD-PhD students.1
Entering class 2026 · Case Western (University Program)
3.87
Mean GPA
518
Mean MCAT
172
Entering class

What is Case Western's mission — and what does it signal?

Case Western Reserve School of Medicine trains physician-scholars prepared to treat disease, promote health, and examine the social and behavioral context of illness.Case Western Reserve SOM, on its mission3

"Physician-scholar" isn't decoration here — Case Western requires a research thesis of every MD student, and its curriculum is explicitly inquiry-driven. Applicants who like asking questions and building an argument fit the WR2 model.

What makes Case Western's curriculum distinctive?

What GPA and MCAT does Case Western look for?

For the entering class of 2026 (University Program), Case Western reports a mean GPA of 3.87, a mean science (BCPM) GPA of 3.85, and an MCAT mean of 518.1 It also publishes ranges (type not stated) of GPA 2.90–4.00 and MCAT 510–527 — a reminder that the class spans a wide band, not a single cutoff. The entering class is 172 (entered 2026); the figures include MD-PhD students.

How does Case Western review applicants?

Case Western looks for academic strength alongside interpersonal skills, exposure to medicine, professionalism, empathy, and leadership, reviewed holistically.3 It asks for three to five letters, at least two from science faculty or a PI, and accepts a committee packet.2 Notably, CASPer and PREview are not required this year across the MD and MD-PhD tracks (an official CWRU statement) — a rarity worth confirming for your cycle. There's no Ohio-residency preference.

What is the Case Western interview like?

Case Western interviews virtually with two one-on-one conversations — one with a health-education professional and one with a current student — not an MMI.2 The student interview means part of your day is a peer read, so be as genuine there as with faculty.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room rehearses one-on-one interviews like these. Join the waitlist →

How much does Case Western cost?

Case Western lists MD tuition of about $72,526 (2026–27).4 That's the tuition line only — fees, insurance, and Cleveland living costs are on top — so confirm the full cost of attendance and CWRU's aid.

What Case Western seems to value — an honest read

A school that will make you a scholar whether you planned to be one or not.

Case Western requires a research thesis of every student and teaches through inquiry rather than lecture — so it reads for people who like to ask questions and build arguments. The published range (a 510 MCAT sits inside the admitted band) shows the class is wide, not a wall. Show genuine curiosity and a scholarly bent — that's a read on fit, not a prediction of admission.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at Case Western and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

Honest school listPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

What GPA and MCAT do you need for Case Western Reserve SOM?

Case Western's entering class of 2026 (University Program) posted a mean GPA of 3.87, a mean science GPA of 3.85, and an MCAT mean of 518, with published ranges (type not stated) of GPA 2.90–4.00 and MCAT 510–527. These are averages and ranges, not cutoffs.

Does Case Western require the CASPer or AAMC PREview?

For the stated year, Case Western does not require CASPer or PREview across its MD and MD-PhD tracks — an official CWRU statement. Confirm this still holds for your cycle, as it can change.

What is the Western Reserve2 (WR2) curriculum?

WR2 is Case Western's inquiry- and team-based curriculum. Every University Program student also completes a required research thesis and progresses via a competency-based portfolio.

What kind of interview does Case Western use?

Two virtual one-on-one interviews — one with a health-education professional and one with a current student — not an MMI.

How much is tuition at Case Western Reserve SOM?

Case Western lists MD tuition of about $72,526 for 2026–27 — tuition only, before fees, insurance, and living costs.

Does Case Western prefer Ohio residents?

No. Case Western draws from a national pool and explicitly states no Ohio-residency preference.

Sources — Case Western official pages

  1. Entering-class means, ranges & science GPA (entered 2026): case.edu/medicine — MD admission requirements; class size (entered 2026): CWRU white coat ceremony news
  2. Application requirements, prerequisites, letters & CASPer/PREview status: case.edu/medicine — MD admission requirements
  3. Mission & Western Reserve2 curriculum: case.edu/medicine
  4. Tuition & cost of attendance (2026–27; confirm current figure): case.edu/medicine — cost of attendance

These are Case Western's own published figures, presented as labeled (means, medians, or ranges) — not cutoffs. Preceptorly is not affiliated with this school and does not represent it. Figures are the school's own most recently published class data and are averages, medians, or ranges as labeled — not cutoffs. No acceptance rate or admission odds are shown or implied; this page does not predict admission. Tuition is the published tuition line only, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Always confirm current requirements and figures on the school's official pages.