Nova Southeastern’s Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Allopathic Medicine, in Fort Lauderdale, is a private MD program built around patient-centered, team-based learning. Its Class Profile lists a median MCAT of 512 and a mean GPA of 3.75 — but doesn’t say whether those are for accepted applicants or matriculants. Here’s an honest read — no odds.
“Dedicated to developing the next generation of physician and healthcare leaders” with an approach that “places the patient at the center of the learning process.”NSU Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Allopathic Medicine1
The tell is “places the patient at the center of the learning process.” NSU frames its MD around patient-centered learning and leadership development in a large, diverse South Florida metropolis. The signal for applicants: this is a program that wants people who learn through real cases and collaboration, not lecture-hall memorization alone.1
NSU’s distinctive frame is a patient-centered curriculum that uses real-world cases and problems as a major learning vehicle, with small team-learning and personal mentoring — students tackle complex cases in tight-knit teams. It sits in a large metropolitan area with award-winning hospitals and houses the Dr. Pallavi Patel School of Health Sciences within the college.1 For applicants who thrive in case-based, team-driven learning with close mentoring, that model is the point of difference here.
Applications run through AMCAS; the AAMC PREview exam is required (no minimum; CASPer is not used), and letters are 3–4 (a science faculty member and a clinician are recommended).2 On the numbers: NSU’s Class Profile lists a median MCAT of 512 and a GPA of 3.75 (mean) — mean science GPA 3.69 — but it does not attribute those to accepted applicants versus matriculants, so we present them as population-not-stated figures, not a class profile we can pin down.2
NSU uses a virtual MMI — a circuit of short, structured mini-interviews rather than one long panel. Prepare to think out loud across several brief stations, each a fresh prompt or scenario.2
NSU issues its own supplemental with prompts that vary by cycle. Pull the current wording and deadlines from NSU’s admissions site each year rather than reusing an old set — we won’t invent them here.2
As a private program, tuition is about $73,407/year, the same regardless of residency — a real budget factor to weigh, with living costs on top. Confirm the current cost-of-attendance on NSU’s official pages before relying on the figure.2
NSU MD fits applicants who want case-based, team-driven learning with close mentoring at a private program in a large, diverse South Florida metro — and who are comfortable with a virtual MMI and building PREview into their timeline. Because it’s private there’s no residency cap; the class is 52% Florida (year not stated), so geography isn’t the filter it is at the state publics, and a strong out-of-state applicant is a real candidate. It fits less naturally an applicant who needs a public school’s lower resident tuition, or who wants a large, lecture-first program. Read the 512 / 3.75 figures as context, not a cutoff — and remember NSU doesn’t say whether they describe accepted applicants or the entering class.2
NSU’s Class Profile shows a median MCAT of 512 and a mean GPA of 3.75, and it lists both a Class Size of 68 and 162 Total Accepted — without ever saying which group the stats describe. We won’t guess: we label them population not stated rather than dress an accepted-applicant number up as a matriculant class profile, and we’ve dropped a stray “511 average” the page leaves unreconciled. Read the figures as real but unpinned context, lean into NSU’s case-based, team-learning fit, and judge yourself by your whole record — never by odds we won’t invent.
Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:
NSU’s Class Profile lists a median MCAT of 512 and a mean GPA of 3.75 (mean science GPA 3.69), with no year stated. The page doesn’t say whether these are accepted-applicant or matriculant figures, so we label them population not stated — and they’re central figures, not cutoffs.2
NSU doesn’t say. Its 2026 Class Profile lists a Class Size of 68 and Total Accepted of 162 but doesn’t attribute the MCAT/GPA to either, so we won’t imply they’re matriculant figures — we call them population-not-stated.2
The AAMC PREview exam is required (no minimum). CASPer is not used. Build PREview into your timeline early.2
A virtual MMI — a circuit of short, structured mini-interviews rather than one long panel. Prepare to think out loud across several brief stations.2
As a private program, tuition is about $73,407/year, the same regardless of residency (living costs on top). Confirm the current year on NSU’s pages.2
A patient-centered curriculum built on real-world cases, with small team-learning and personal mentoring — students work complex cases in tight-knit teams, in a large South Florida metro with major hospitals.1
NSU publishes a 2026 Class Profile but does not state whether the MCAT/GPA describe accepted applicants or matriculants (it lists Class Size 68 and Total Accepted 162 without attribution), so we label them population not stated and never imply matriculant figures; a stray unreconciled “511 average” on the page is excluded. MCAT 512 is a median; GPA 3.75 is a mean. Tuition is a private, residency-independent figure and excludes living costs. No acceptance rate or admission odds are shown, by policy. Not affiliated with or endorsed by NSU; confirm all requirements on the school’s official pages.