✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › University of Florida
● Allopathic · MD

Getting into University of Florida College of Medicine

The University of Florida College of Medicine is a public program in Gainesville with a big clinical footprint across Gainesville and Jacksonville. It publishes an average MCAT plainly; a GPA is not available. No admission odds here, just verified facts and how to read them.

University of Florida · College of Medicine
Degree
MDAllopathic medicine
Location
Gainesville, FLPublic · SEC
Interview
VirtualTraditional · Zoom
Apply via
AMCASSecondary required
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. UF publishes an average MCAT (516), not stamped with a class year, so read it as UF's most recently published figure, not a cutoff. A GPA is not available, and UF does not publish a 10–90% range.1
Published average · UF MD
516
Average MCAT (year not stated)
140
Entering class (entered 2026; includes 8 MD-PhD)

What is UF's mission — and what does it signal?

UF frames itself around a broad-based, actively taught curriculum that integrates basic science with early clinical medicine, and it trains students across a large health system spanning Gainesville and Jacksonville, VA facilities, and community sites.3 Service learning and student-run free clinics are described as enduring traditions — a signal that UF values applicants who show up for their communities, not just their coursework.

What makes UF distinctive?

The clearest distinctive is clinical breadth: UF students rotate across urban, suburban, and rural settings and two major campuses, giving unusually varied exposure for a single program.3 As a public school in a large state, it also offers in-state tuition that is well below private-school sticker — a meaningful practical advantage for Florida residents.

What GPA and MCAT does UF look for?

UF publishes an average MCAT of 516 (year not stated), for a class of 140 students that entered in 2026 (including 8 MD-PhD students).1 A GPA is not available. UF also notes a minimum MCAT of 500 and that recent successful applicants generally scored above 509 — useful context, still not a guarantee. As always, an average is the center of a strong class, not a line you must cross.

How does UF review applicants — and what does it ask for?

UF asks for a minimum of three letters and a maximum of six, all submitted through AMCAS, and it accepts committee letters.2 Review is holistic. UF's official pages don't list a CASPer or AAMC PREview requirement — confirm the current cycle's expectations before you apply.

Does UF use the MMI — and what is the interview like?

UF uses a traditional interview, not an MMI — interview days run on Fridays from August into early spring, conducted entirely via Zoom, and each applicant interviews with two members of UF's roughly 80-person Medical Student Interview Committee.2 That format rewards depth: being able to talk substantively about your path with two different interviewers.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room is built to rehearse exactly this kind of one-on-one conversation. Join the waitlist →

How much does UF cost?

UF publishes annual MD tuition of about $37,000 for Florida residents and about $49,000 for non-residents.4 As a public school, in-state residents pay materially less. The tuition line is only part of the picture — factor in fees, insurance, and living costs, and check UF's financial-aid pages for the exact current cost of attendance.

What University of Florida seems to value — an honest read

A broad, community-minded public school — with an honest GPA footnote.

UF's story is clinical breadth across two campuses and a service-driven culture, at public-school cost. The published average is the center of a strong class, not a gate. If varied, community-rooted training appeals to you, that's the fit. A read on fit, not a prediction — we publish no odds.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at University of Florida and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

Honest school listPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

What GPA and MCAT do you need for the University of Florida College of Medicine?

UF publishes an average MCAT of 516 (year not stated); a GPA is not available. These are class averages, not cutoffs, and UF reviews holistically.

Does UF use an MMI?

No. UF uses a traditional interview conducted via Zoom, in which each applicant interviews with two members of its Medical Student Interview Committee — not a multiple-mini-interview.

How many letters of recommendation does UF require?

A minimum of three and a maximum of six, all submitted through AMCAS. UF accepts committee letters.

How much is tuition at the University of Florida College of Medicine?

UF publishes annual MD tuition of about $37,000 for Florida residents and about $49,000 for non-residents, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Confirm the current cost of attendance on UF's official pages.

Does UF require the CASPer or AAMC PREview?

UF's official admissions pages do not list a CASPer or AAMC PREview requirement. Confirm the current cycle's expectations directly on the UF site.

Sources — University of Florida official pages

  1. Entering-student average MCAT (year not stated) & tuition framing ("FAQ"): admissions.med.ufl.edu — FAQ
  2. Class size, interview format & letters ("Regular Admission Requirements"): admissions.med.ufl.edu — regular admission requirements; class size, entered 2026: UF news, class of 2030
  3. Program, curriculum & clinical training ("Why UF"): admissions.med.ufl.edu — why UF
  4. Tuition & cost of attendance (confirm current figure): finaid.med.ufl.edu — cost of attendance

Preceptorly is not affiliated with this school and does not represent it. Figures are the school's own most recently published class data and are averages, medians, or ranges as labeled — not cutoffs. No acceptance rate or admission odds are shown or implied; this page does not predict admission. Tuition is the published tuition line only, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Always confirm current requirements and figures on the school's official pages.