✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › Mayo Clinic Alix
● Allopathic · MD

Getting into Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine

Mayo Clinic Alix trains physicians inside one of the world's best-known care systems, across campuses in Minnesota, Arizona, and Florida. Its curriculum bakes in the Science of Health Care Delivery — how care actually gets organized and paid for. No admission odds here, just verified facts and how to read them.

Mayo Clinic · Alix School of Medicine
Degree
MDAllopathic medicine
Location
Rochester, MN+ Arizona & Florida
Curriculum
Health Care DeliverySignature thread
Apply via
AMCASSecondary required
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. Mayo reports these as entering-class medians, not cutoffs, and the figures include MD-PhD students and combine all campuses (year not stated); the class is 94 students. It does not publish a separate science GPA or an in-state/out-of-state split.1
Entering-class medians · Mayo Alix MD
3.97
Median GPA
521
Median MCAT
94
Entering class

What is Mayo Clinic Alix's mission — and what does it signal?

Mayo's guiding idea, across the whole institution, is that the needs of the patient come first — and the school talks about forming servant physician-leaders in that mold.3 What that signals for applicants is a real emphasis on teamwork and character, not just individual brilliance. Mayo is famous for team-based care, so evidence that you work well with people — that you make a team better — lands here.

What makes Mayo's curriculum distinctive?

Two things set Mayo apart.3 First, it's genuinely multi-campus — students train across Minnesota, Arizona, and Florida, inside the Mayo care system rather than at arm's length from it. Second, the curriculum includes a formal Science of Health Care Delivery thread: you learn how care is organized, financed, and improved, not only the biology. If you're drawn to systems and to fixing how medicine actually works, that's an unusually explicit fit.

What GPA and MCAT does Mayo look for?

Mayo's entering class (year not stated) posted a median GPA of 3.97 and a median total MCAT of 521, across 94 students.1 Medians mark the middle of the class, not a floor, and the figures include MD-PhD students and combine all campuses. Mayo doesn't publish a science GPA. Read these as context, not a scorecard: a strong, well-rounded application matters more than clearing a number.

How does Mayo review applicants — and what does it ask for?

Review is holistic. Mayo asks for at least three individual letters or a single committee letter, up to a stated maximum.2 On the extra screens: Mayo does not require CASPer, and it recommends the AAMC PREview but states it isn't used to make decisions — a nice example of a school being upfront about what actually counts.2 Confirm the current cycle's details before applying.

Does Mayo use the MMI — and what is the interview like?

Mayo uses a traditional interview, not an MMI: typically two virtual one-on-one conversations of about 30 minutes each.2 That format rewards depth and warmth — being able to actually talk with someone about your path, your reasoning, and how you work on a team. It's a conversation, so prepare to be present, not to perform memorized lines.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room is built to rehearse exactly this kind of one-on-one conversation. Join the waitlist →

How much does Mayo Clinic Alix cost?

Mayo lists MD tuition of about $70,280.4 That's tuition only — before fees, insurance, and living costs — so the full cost of attendance is higher. Mayo has historically offered substantial scholarship support, so check its financial aid pages for the current picture; what you pay can differ a lot from the sticker.

What Mayo Clinic Alix seems to value — an honest read

A team-first school that teaches you how medicine actually runs.

Mayo's whole identity is coordinated, patient-first care — and its curriculum makes the systems side of medicine explicit. The medians are the middle of a strong, blended class, not a gate. If you're someone who makes a team better and cares about how care actually gets delivered, that's the story Mayo is built to hear. A read on fit, not a prediction — we publish no odds.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at Mayo Clinic Alix and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

Honest school listPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

What GPA and MCAT do you need for Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine?

Mayo's entering class (year not stated) posted a median GPA of 3.97 and a median total MCAT of 521. These are blended MD/MD-PhD medians, not cutoffs, and Mayo reviews holistically.

Does Mayo Clinic Alix use an MMI?

No. Mayo uses a traditional interview — typically two virtual one-on-one conversations of about 30 minutes each — rather than a multiple-mini-interview.

Does Mayo require CASPer or AAMC PREview?

Mayo does not require CASPer. It recommends the AAMC PREview but states PREview is not used to make admissions decisions. Confirm the current cycle before applying.

What is the Science of Health Care Delivery?

It's a formal thread in Mayo's curriculum that teaches how care is organized, financed, and improved — the systems side of medicine — alongside the clinical science.

How much is tuition at Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine?

Mayo lists MD tuition of about $70,280 — tuition only, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Mayo has historically offered strong scholarship support, so confirm your real cost with financial aid.

Does Mayo have more than one campus?

Yes. Mayo Clinic Alix trains students across campuses in Minnesota, Arizona, and Florida within the Mayo care system.

Sources — Mayo Clinic Alix official pages

  1. Entering-class medians & class size (year not stated): college.mayo.edu — class profile
  2. Prerequisites, letters, CASPer/PREview policy & interview: college.mayo.edu — prerequisites & requirements
  3. Mission, multi-campus model & Science of Health Care Delivery: college.mayo.edu — MD program
  4. Tuition & cost of attendance (confirm current figure): college.mayo.edu — cost & aid

Preceptorly is not affiliated with this school and does not represent it. Figures are the school's own most recently published class data and are averages, medians, or ranges as labeled — not cutoffs. No acceptance rate or admission odds are shown or implied; this page does not predict admission. Tuition is the published tuition line only, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Always confirm current requirements and figures on the school's official pages.