✚ PRECEPTORLYJoin the waitlist →
Schools › Geisel
● Allopathic · MD

Getting into Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth is a small, Ivy League program in Hanover, New Hampshire that graduates what it calls “the complete physician” and builds health-care delivery science into the whole curriculum. No admission odds here, just verified facts and how to read them.

Dartmouth · Geisel School of Medicine
Degree
MDAllopathic medicine
Location
Hanover, NHPrivate · Ivy
Interview
VirtualTraditional + group
Apply via
AMCASSecondary required
No acceptance rate is shown here — by policy. Geisel publishes its GPA/MCAT as averages for accepted applicants (GPA 3.77 / MCAT 516; year not stated) on its requirements pages, not as figures for the enrolled class. As a private school, tuition is a single rate. Geisel reports an average, not a cutoff.1
Accepted-applicant averages · Geisel MD
3.77
Average GPA (accepted applicants)
516
Average MCAT (accepted applicants)
96
Entering class

What is Geisel's mission — and what does it signal?

We graduate the complete physician — one who excels in the basic sciences, delivers outstanding clinical care, discovers and shares new knowledge, and works to improve systems of healthcare delivery.Geisel School of Medicine, on its mission1

That "complete physician" framing is the signal: Geisel wants people who are strong scientists, strong clinicians, and genuinely interested in how care is delivered — not just how it's practiced one patient at a time.

What makes Geisel distinctive?

Geisel weaves Health Care Delivery Science through all four years — a real emphasis, not a single course — alongside Learning Collaboratives (team-based learning communities) and six dual-degree options (MD/MBA, MD/MEng, MD/MHA, MD/MPH, MD/MS, MD/PhD).1 Paired with a small class (about 96), it's an intimate, systems-minded program.

What GPA and MCAT does Geisel look for?

Geisel's admissions-requirements pages cite an average GPA of 3.77 and an average MCAT of 516 for accepted applicants (year not stated), not for the enrolled class.1 Read them as averages, not a bar to clear. Geisel also notes it won't send a secondary to applicants scoring 502 or below.

How does Geisel review applicants — and what does it ask for?

Geisel requires a composite/committee letter if your school has a premedical committee; otherwise it requires three to five individual letters, and encourages one from science faculty and one from someone who can speak to your clinical experience.2 Review is holistic. Geisel's official pages don't list a CASPer or AAMC PREview requirement — confirm the current cycle's expectations before you apply.

Does Geisel use the MMI — and what is the interview like?

Geisel uses a traditional format, not an MMI: an interview day (held virtually, on Thursdays) that includes a 20-minute group exercise plus two 30-minute one-on-one interviews with committee members.3 The season runs August through March. That mix rewards both individual conversation and how you work with others.

◎ Preceptorly's Mock Interview Room is built to rehearse exactly this kind of one-on-one conversation. Join the waitlist →

How much does Geisel cost?

Geisel is private, so tuition is a single rate for all students: about $75,110 for 2026–27.4 Budget for fees, insurance, and living costs on top of tuition. Geisel notes roughly $7 million in annual institutional scholarships, so study its financial aid closely — the price many students pay differs from the sticker.

What Geisel seems to value — an honest read

A small Ivy program that thinks in systems, not just patients.

Geisel's “complete physician” mission and its health-care-delivery emphasis tell you what it values: scientists and clinicians who care how care actually works. The published averages are the middle of a small, strong group of accepted applicants, not a gate. If a systems-minded, intimate program appeals to you, that's the fit. A read on fit, not a prediction — we publish no odds.

Your whole application, one honest system

See exactly where you stand — at Geisel and every school on your list

Preceptorly is admissions software built by a practicing physician. It matches your real numbers to each school's published averages — never fake odds — and coaches the parts that actually decide your cycle:

Honest school listPersonal Statement LabSecondary Essay StudioMock Interview RoomApplication HQ
Join the waitlist →
Opening January 2027 · built by a physician · no admission odds, ever
See how it works · 2:41
A short tour of what Preceptorly does for your whole application.

Keep going

Frequently asked

What GPA and MCAT do you need for the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth?

Geisel's requirements pages cite an average GPA of 3.77 and an average MCAT of 516 for accepted applicants (year not stated). These are averages, not cutoffs, and Geisel reviews holistically.

Does Geisel use an MMI?

No. Geisel uses a traditional virtual interview day with a 20-minute group exercise and two 30-minute one-on-one interviews with committee members.

How many letters of recommendation does Geisel require?

A composite/committee letter if your school has a premedical committee; otherwise three to five individual letters, ideally including one from science faculty and one on your clinical experience.

How big is Geisel's class?

96 students (year not stated) — a small, intimate program.

How much is tuition at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth?

Geisel is private, so tuition is a single rate of about $75,110 for 2026–27, before fees, insurance, and living costs. It notes roughly $7 million in annual institutional scholarships — confirm the current cost of attendance on its official page.

Sources — Geisel official pages

  1. Accepted-applicant average GPA/MCAT and class size, year not stated (admissions requirements); mission & curriculum ("Why Geisel"): geiselmed.dartmouth.edu — why Geisel
  2. Admissions requirements (average GPA/MCAT, MCAT screen, letters, prerequisites): geiselmed.dartmouth.edu — admissions requirements
  3. Interview format & application components ("FAQ" / how to apply): geiselmed.dartmouth.edu — FAQ
  4. Tuition & cost of attendance (2026–27, confirm current figure): geiselmed.dartmouth.edu — cost of attendance

Preceptorly is not affiliated with this school and does not represent it. Figures are the school's own most recently published class data and are averages, medians, or ranges as labeled — not cutoffs. No acceptance rate or admission odds are shown or implied; this page does not predict admission. Tuition is the published tuition line only, before fees, insurance, and living costs. Always confirm current requirements and figures on the school's official pages.